Image Resizer

Help

This section is an introduction to the basics of the Image Resizer, so that you can use and work with the Image Resizer after reading. The first section is dealing with the resizing of images, after that you learn something about adjusting settings and how to save these settings. If you are interested in a special function, you should read the section Functions, where each function of the Image Resizer is explained in detail.

Resize Images

If you want to change the size of images, you can do that like this: After starting the Image Resizer, you can see a list of files. All files listed in this list will be scaled. You can simply drag and drop files from a folder to the list or you can open a folder or single files in the Image Resizer.

After adding all files, you can click on the button "Forward" on the down right of the window or on the second step on the top on the window. In this step, you can select how the images should be scaled, for which you have four possibilities. You can scale to a pixel size, you can resize percentage (for example to halve or double the images) or you can select a file size to which the images will be resized. At the first three possibilities, in addition, you can select whether the proportions of the images should be kept or not. If you disable the proportions, the images will be scaled to the exact pixel size, if you enable the proportions, the images will be scaled to a size, so that they are not larger than the given size, but the proportions will be kept. More options can be found in the menu "Settings > Options". They are explained in the next section.

In the next step (click on "Forward" or go to the third step on the top of the window), you can select how the images should be saved. You can overwrite the old images (with this option it is not possible to restore the old ones) or you can save the images as new files. When saving as new file, you have to select a folder, a file name and a file format. In each case, you can also keep the settings of the old image with <keep> and you can use the old directory or file name with %folder% or %name% in the boxes. For example, you can save the files under %name%-new to add the string "-new" to the old file names when saving them. Other variables are %num% (number of the images), %0num% (number of the images with leading zeros), %abs% (absolute number of the images), %width% (width of the image) and %height% (height of the image). All of this variables can be used in the file names.

If you have selected all of the settings, you can click on "Save Images" to convert and save all images. This button can be found in the last step instead of the "Forward"-button.

Options

In the menu "Settings > Options" you can find some options. When distincting between landscape and portrait format, the new size is choosen, so that it is fitting either in the landscape or the portrait format. Otherwise the new size will be chossen, so that the image fits exactly in this format. That means when scaling landscape images into a portrait format, they will not be as large as portrait images scaled into another portrait format. If the images should only be resized if the original image is smaller or larger than the maximum size, you can only change too small or too large images and the rest will not be scaled. Furthermore, you can select the resize method (for example Bicubic, Bilinear or Nearest), the quality of the formats JPEG, JNG and JPG2000 and if the progressive function should be used for this formats to allow a faster preview on the Internet.

Configurations

If you are often using the same settings for your images, you can create a configuration file to save and load all of the settings of the Image Resizer. You can find all important functions in the menu "Configuration". The file extension of the configuration files is .rkg and if there is a file named auto.rkg in the application folder, this configuration will be loaded at startup automatically. You can create the file auto.rkg easily by using the configuration menu as well as you can save and load all configuration files here. In addition, all configuration files that are saved in the application folder will be displayed in the menu, where they can be accessed very easily. If you enable the function "Auto save Settings on Exit", the file auto.rkg will be created automatically when closing the application. In this file, the last settings will be saved so that the program will start the next time like you have closed it.